Skip to content

Who am I?

February 3, 2012

This evening I have been thinking about my desire to figure out the root-causes of some of my most persistent weaknesses.   I know that ultimately it’s my “fallen nature”, but the human heart is too complex a web of thoughts, emotions, desires, and motives for me to understand what exactly needs to change in order for me to change.

What comfort I have been given tonight:

I know that ultimately, keeping one’s eyes on God is the foundation of the best solution I could I find.  The more one seeks God, the more she understands life and herself properly.

So I went to the Word for encouragement, and my appointed passage for the day was from 1 Chronicles 29:10-22, when King David blesses the assembly of Israelites before his son Solomon is anointed king.  He starts out appropriately by blessing the Lord for his straight-up awesome-ness :

“Blessed are you, O Lord, the God of Israel our father, forever and ever.  Yours, O Lord is the greatness and the power and the glory and the victory and the majesty, for all that is in the heavens and in the earth is yours.” (vs. 11, ESV)

This declaration of might is followed in the next verse (12) by a description of two of God’s (many) gifts to anyone who seeks Him : “…in your hand it is to make great and to give strength to all.”

It is God who promises to make me a greater person than I am on my own.  It God who promises to give me strength.  No thank you to infamous “self-help” books…I’ll take some God-help.

If I recall correctly from my father, my grandma Eugenia’s “life verse” was Philippians 1:6: “And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.”

I never knew my grandmother, but I find encouragement upon pondering the fact that she is with the Lord, brought to completion in Jesus Christ.

What a great promise!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lois Suffern permalink
    February 7, 2012 11:34 pm

    Wow, Kate. Those are good thoughts and so poignantly written. I think I will read that at staff devotions tomorrow morning!

Leave a Reply

