Skip to content

Settin’ up the pins

February 7, 2012

This past year I have been re-discovering Sara Groves.  When I first listened to my download of Fireflies and Songs last year, I wasn’t sure if I was happy with the purchase.  Yet, as it is with a lot of good music, I appreciated it the more I actually listened.

Sara Groves’ strength is writing poignantly reflective lyrics about the joys and challenges of life. Fireflies and Songs (released 2009) highlights growth and lessons being realized in middle age adulthood.  It’s been a good preview for me, having recently entered the adult world and marriage.

In particular I enjoy the word pictures that she paints with her lyrics. “Setting up the Pins” describes the routines of daily life. At first I thought this was a cute song about bowling, but my husband  Matt (who is a better listener) pointed out recently that she is singing about the process of doing the same things day after day.  What is the purpose of it all?

She describes a grandmother who

“had a working song,

hummed it low all day long,

sing for the beauty that’s to be found, 

setting up the pins for knocking them down”

We persevere day to day for the beauty to be found: glimpses of God’s glory that can still be discovered in this fallen world.  What beauty can you find today?

(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1MQaHQgqrY is a music video of the song on Sara Groves’ youtube channel)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Caitlin permalink
    February 10, 2012 1:13 pm

    I love this album! One of my professors played the song “Twice as Good” in class for us my senior year just before we graduated and made everyone cry… the song always reminds me of my friends there now and I bought the album just for that. =)

    PS – I love reading the thoughts in your blog, since clearly Skyping often would be a bit difficult. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

