Skip to content

What Liam Has Taught Me About God, Part 2: My Heavenly Father is Trustworthy.

March 11, 2013

My child is waking up.

I pick him up, knowing it is time to feed him and he is hungry.

Liam begins making a fuss.

Sometimes, I know he is fussing simply because it’s not fun to wake up.  I mean, if you have ever witnessed his dear father, Matthew, waking involuntarily from a deep sleep, you know that waking pleasantly might not be a strong family trait. (ok, Mother is guilty too.)

But other times, I can just tell that he’s fussing because he doesn’t trust that he going to get what he needs.  In other words, he’s being impatient.  And I’m just thinking, goodness gracious, I’m just about to give you some milk, can you not wait 10 short seconds?!?

How often do we get impatient with God for what we want?  for what we need?  Even if our life is “hungry” for something RIGHT NOW, do we remember that God knows our need and will be faithful to take care of us, even if it means waiting a little while- 10 seconds, or 10 years?

I would love to settle down with our family in one place and live there for at least 10 years, if not 20.  or 30.  I want to sink my roots into a community.

Will God give that to me this year? or next?  I believe I need this because community is good.  There are not enough long-standing communities these days.

God knows what is best for me, and I can trust him to give our family what we need to thrive and serve Him.

Just like Liam can trust me to give him food that will help him grow.  Even if he has to wait 10 seconds.

Image

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 23, 2013 5:28 pm

    Dearest Kate,

    Thank you for sharing this – it is beautiful, and such a fantastic reminder of all that God expects that we “get” when he uses the word “father” in Scripture. Thank you for refreshing my soul. I love you dearly, and can not wait to meet your and Matt’s little one. Keep sharing these thoughts, beloved!

    Love,
    Elspeth

Leave a Reply

