Skip to content

Baking-Soda Vinegar and Hair oh my!

May 1, 2013

I’ve been substituting Baking Soda for shampoo and Apple Cider Vinegar for conditioner for some time now.  I took a break during the hectic-ness of having a newborn baby but resumed recently and I love it!  My hair is not greasy at the end of every day anymore and it’s a shiny and smooth and soft.  And all I did was air dry it!  I know this approach doesn’t work for everyone’s hair but it definitely worth a try because…

– it just might work for you!

-it’s good for the planet because you are not contributing to the demand for products with toxic chemicals that also come in plastic bottles!

-it saves $$

-it defies our profit-driven cosmetic industry

-Most importantly, it doesn’t put toxic chemicals into yo boday!

Here is what I do-

Baking Soda: pour 80 grams of Baking Soda into an empty shampoo bottle and fill with water and shake.  Squirt my hair all over with it and rub it into my scalp.  Let it sit for a few minutes while I wash body and then rinse. (here in CZ baking soda comes in 80g packets so when we move back to the US I will need to tweek my routine)

AC Vinegar: Right now I just tilt my head and carefully pour vinegar over my hair  and then let it sit for a few minutes while I wash my face and then rinse.  I want to acquire a plastic spray bottle as soon as I find one and use that to spray the vinegar onto my hair.  When the hair dries the vinegar smell goes away fully.

Hope you can also take part in this healthy, cheap, eco-friendly routine!

P.S. It might not look great the first day because your hair is used to overproducing oil for crazy shampoo.  But give it at least a few days to a week before you give up!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth Ulrich permalink
    May 1, 2013 10:48 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try this and was going to ask you for instructions! i might wait till you get back and I can bug you about your US routine. 😉

  2. Elizabeth permalink
    June 13, 2013 2:56 pm

    I just figured it out! You use 4 tablespoons per bottle. You’re welcome. 🙂 Now I want to know, how many ounces/grams is your shampoo bottle?

    • June 13, 2013 3:04 pm

      I’m not sure… I took the label off. I actually use an empty bath and body works body wash bottle, the one you brought me in January. It’s not an exact science. You can experiment a little and find the right ratio for your hair.

      • Elizabeth permalink
        June 13, 2013 10:15 pm

        Experimenting… just want I want to do before the wedding, haha. Although honestly, they say there’s this huge adjustment period and I haven’t noticed anything at all. Maybe cause I’ve been using too much. Or maybe because I’ve only ever used cheap shampoo on it. I don’t know. How many washes does that bottle last you?

      • June 14, 2013 5:51 am

        Four washes. If it works fine on your hair now, then it works fine. The rule of the game is do what works.

Leave a Reply

