Skip to content

Favorite Breakfast Muffins, including tips for less dirty dishes

May 20, 2014

As a mom, one of my favorite things for me and my boys is a breakfast that is ready to eat, especially a nutritious breakfast.

These muffins, adapted from Pioneer Woman’s mom’s recipe, are just that.  My version cuts out the refined sugar and molasses (using honey and the sweetness from more bananas instead), so these muffins will not set your day out on a cycle of sugar cravings, like the traditional cereal and/or granola sometimes does for me.  My version also uses chia seeds, which are high in many nutrients, like flax seed is.  The advantage of chia is that it does not need to be freshly ground in order to obtain the nutrients.  I also like to use organic bananas if I can find them (usually at Aldi). I think they taste better and it’s just one of those products that is worth it to me to buy organic, because this.  I didn’t use apple sauce because again, pesticides, and apples get most of them and apples are not in season right now, so organic apples (to make sauce) are VERY expensive at the moment!  But if you want to use apple sauce I would replace 1 or 2 bananas with 1/2 cup of apple sauce, and the batter will probably be thinner and take a little longer to bake.  If I had it my way I would also use organic buttermilk, but, alas, the-budget-and-I-don’t-know-where-to-buy-it.

Smart Breakfast Muffins

Dry Ingredients:
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour (I prefer unbleached)
1/4 cup chia seeds
1 cup rolled oats
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup raisins
optional: chopped nuts

Wet Ingredients:
1 cup buttermilk
1 egg
4 ripe bananas
1/3 cup honey

Grease muffin tins or loaf pans and preheat oven to 350 F.  Prepare both sets of ingredients*, pour wet over dry and fold to combine, don’t overmix.  Put into pans** and sprinkle more nuts on top if desired.

Bake for 20-25 mins, or until cake tester comes out dry.

*You can minimize dirty dishes by using only a 1/4 cup and multiplying.  Also, use a 4 cup liquid measuring bowl if you have one.  Whisk the egg in it first with a fork, then mash the bananas in, then squeeze/pour in honey and the buttermilk straight from the bottles, using the measurements on the side to determine how much to pour in (requires a little head math, which won’t kill you).

The batter doesn’t all fit in a dozen muffin tins, so I put the extra in this cute Polish pottery loaf pan my sister gave me.

**Hope you enjoy these! ** They are yummy and filling.

muffins

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2014 2:44 pm

    I will have to try these! You can make your own organic buttermilk – I never buy buttermilk, I just add 1 tablespoon of vinegar to one cup of milk, and let it sit for 5-10 minutes. It has never been a problem for me that I didn’t use real buttermilk.

  2. May 22, 2014 6:29 pm

    Yeah, I’ve done that before but haven’t been sure how good of a substitute it is. I should try it some more. Does it work for buttermilk pancakes?

Leave a Reply

