Skip to content

Crock-pot Honey Curry Chicken & Rice

June 2, 2015

Looking for a delicious, easy (no pre-cooking), nutritious crockpot recipe?  Look no further!  I happily modified a common favorite into a one pot meal that can cook while you’re away from home!

crock pot meal

The base recipe for Honey-Baked Chicken I got at my bridal shower a few years ago on a note-card. I’m pretty sure it’s a recipe from More With Less cookbook, sans the mustard.

Mix together:

1/3 c. melted butter
1/3 c. honey
1 tsp. curry powder
1/2 tsp. salt

Pour over ~2 lbs chicken breasts and bake at 350 F.

To make this a whole meal in a slow cooker, I put the above in a crock pot with the following:

1 c. brown rice
2 c. chicken broth
1/2 c. water
2 c. sliced carrots
(1 tsp. salt b/c my broth was low sodium)

I tried to get the solids submerged in liquid as much as possible.  I set it on high for 4 hours. My programmable crock pot switched it to warm after the time was up.  The result was tender chicken surrounded by sweet, tangy, moist rice and carrots!  yum!  (The rice was a little mushy, but I like it that way.)

This serves 3-4 people, depending on appetite.
When I make this again I might add more veggies for nutrition’s sake, or serve it with a garden salad.

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz permalink
    June 2, 2015 9:22 pm

    Do you think I can do it on low for 8 hours?

Leave a Reply

